Pink in Pink 4 (Various Artists)

Poland release date: 3rd October 2014

Universal Music Polska 5355840


01. Takuya Kuroda – Rising Son (4:43)
02. Gregory Porter – Liquid Spirit (3:37)
03. Nikki Yanofsky – Something New (2:53)
04. Brenda Boykin – Mambo Jambo (4:36)
05. Natalie Cole – Frenesi (3:27)
06. Carlos Santana Feat. Lila Downs, Nina Pastori & Soledad – Una Noche En Nápoles (4:29)
07. Dianne Reeves, Raul Midón – Tango (6:37)
08. Claudia Aurora – Silêncio (4:29)
09. Curtis Stigers, Cyrille Aimée – You Make Me Feel So Young (4:36)
10. Caro Emerald – My Two Cents (3:46)
11. Ledisi – Trippin’ (2:58)
12. Malia, Boris Blank – Raising Venus (4:38)
13. Emmanuelle Seigner – Venus In Furs (4:16)
14. Somi – Four African Woman (6:38)
15. Menshell Ndegeocello – Make Me Wanna Holler (8:52)
16. Quantic And Alice Russell With The Combo Bárbaro – I’d Cry (7:10)

Claudia Aurora​ participated in the compilation “Pink in Pink 4”, published by Universal Music Poland to support the fight against breast cancer, next to stars such as Quantic, Carlos Santana, Natalie Cole, Alice Russell, Caro Emerald, Me’Shell Ndegéocello, Ledisi, Dianne Reeves, Lila Downs, Nina Pastori, and Gregory Porter, to name a few.

Claudia Aurora, who lives in London and has been performing all over the world since the release of her debut album, “Silêncio”, in November 2011, is the first Portuguese artist ever to embrace this series. She performed to a sell out audience at the Globaltica Festival in Poland in 2013 and will be recording her second album in Portugal at the end of August 2015, with Ricardo Cruz, producer and musical arranger of Antonio Zambujo.

Previous editions included names like Jamie Cullum, Ella Fitzgerald, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Imelda May, Pink Martini, Louis Armstrong, Macy Gray, Devendra Banhart, Yasmin Levy, Duke Ellington… The profits of the sale of this compilation CD goes to support research into a cure for breast cancer, run the Hereditary Cancer Center at the Pomeranian Medical University in Szczecin, Poland.


UK release date: 31st October 2011 | France release date: September 2012

World Village 450020


Claudia Aurora, the new voice of fado, has a 6-date UK tour in November to coincide with the release of her debut album on the World Village label.

With a following to rival flamenco, the haunting melodies of Portuguese fado have always held listeners spellbound; Claudia Aurora is its powerful new voice. The singer-songwriter’s debut album, “Silêncio”, is the first collection of original fado songs to be recorded in the UK since the great Portuguese Fado diva Amália Rodrigues recorded at Abbey Road Studios in 1952.

Claudia Aurora is a fadista (fado singer) and songwriter from Oporto, Portugal. She has lived in Bristol, UK since 2003 and has built a reputation as a stunning live performer. Claudia has sung fado at numerous venues in the UK, including the prestigious Queen Elizabeth Hall (Southbank Centre), Momo and Heaven, in London, Royal Theatre in Norwich, and St George’s in Bristol. Since 2006 she has frequently organised successful fado events, adding live Portuguese poetry to create complete cultural celebrations. In 2008 she began writing her own lyrics and composing her own original songs with guitarist Javier Moreno. The great success achieved by her songs and the public’s amazing response to them inspired and motivated her to record “Silêncio”.

“Silêncio” will be launched at Kings Place (Hall One), in London, on 2nd November, as part of LIFEM: London International Festival of Exploratory Music, followed by a UK tour. The album is a showcase of both her powerful voice and her unique original songs, songs that deal with the traditional fado themes of life, destiny, longing and despair.

BBC Radio 3 broadcast Claudia’s concert earlier this year at the Women of the World Festival at the Southbank Centre, which Lucy Duran, the producer of “World Routes” confessed was: “Drenched in emotion and drama”. Claudia received a standing ovation for her concert at the Norwich and Norfolk Festival, when called on as a last minute substitute for Mariza, and has recently been performing as a guest of These New Puritans (in London, Paris and Berlin), whose album ‘Hidden’ was considered the best album of 2010 by NME.

“Silêncio” was recorded by Sebastian Pecchia (who has worked with Hector Zazou, Susheela Raman, Peter Gabriel, Jeff Beck, Robert Plant, Rodrigo y Gabriela, etc) at Riverside Studios, in Bath, in July 2011. It was produced by Ricardo Cruz (Antonio Zambujo, Mariza, Dulce Pontes, Camané, Mafalda Arnauth…) and has Bernardo Couto (Mariza, Camané, Cristina Branco, Ana Moura…) as a special guest, on Portuguese guitar. “Silêncio” was mastered by Andy Baldwyn at Metropolis, London.

Fado (translated as destiny or fate) can be traced back to the 1820s in Portugal. Amongst the circa 20 genres of fado known, Claudia Aurora sings Fado Canção (“song fado”). While in Fado Castiço (“authentic fado”, also known as Fado-Fado, Fado Clássico or Fado Tradicional) for the same music there are several poems, Fado Canção is a genre characterised by the music and the poem being always the same, very seldom one music having a different poem. Claudia innovates in this genre by writing her own poems (fado lyricists are not normally performers). Her Oporto (as opposed to Lisbon) origins also give her a unique exotic flavour within the fado circle.

Fado canção was a development of the late nineteenth century and evolved through theatrical revistas (shows). It is distinguished by a stanza- and refrain-based song style and uses more complex harmonic structures. It is this style that came to be associated with Amália Rodrigues and those influenced by her, although both Amália and the “new fadistas” continued to perform the more traditional styles.

Classic examples of fado canção include Alfredo Marceneiro’s “Há Festa na Mouraria” and Amália Rodrigues’s “Gaivota”.


01. Náufrago (1:43)
02. Desejo do mar (4:33)
03. Cigana (4:37)
04. Meu limão de amargura (3:37)
05. Canção dos poetas (4:24)
06. Povo que lavas no rio (5:56)
07. Silêncio (4:26)
08. Mariquinha (4:01)
09. Naufrágio (4:22)
10. Fado d’alma (3:19)
11. Menina do mar (4:43)
12. Primavera (4:44)
13. Lamento (4:36)
14. Entrega (2:29)

Claudia Aurora: voice
Javier Moreno: acoustic guitar
Andres Garcia: acoustic guitar, mandolin
Jon Short: double bass
Brian Mullan: cello, piano
Bernardo Couto: Portuguese guitar
Fernando Messias: voice

All songs written by Claudia Aurora and Javier Moreno except “Náufrago” (Fernando Messias/Javier Moreno), “Entrega” (Fernando Messias and Claudia Aurora/Bernardo Couto), “Primavera” (David Mourão-Ferreira/Pedro Rodrigues), “Povo que lavas no rio” (Pedro Homem de Mello/Joaquim Campos da Silva), “Naufrágio” (Cecília Meireles/Alain Oulman), “Meu limão de amargura” (José Carlos Ary dos Santos/Alain Oulman).

Music arrangements by Javier Moreno
Produced by Ricardo Cruz
Recorded and mixed by Sebastian Pecchia at Riverside Studios, Bath
Mastered by Andy Baldwin at Metropolis, London
Recording, mixing and mastering: July/ August 2011
CD art direction by Emma Landolt
Graphic design by Rooted Graphic Design
Cover photo by Nick Johnston
Booklet photos by Emma Landolt
Studio photo by Luis Conde
French translation by Leonor Francisco
English translation by Nina Martin
Executive Producer: Miguel Santos, Red Orange Arts Agency